Home‎ > ‎BAHS News‎ > ‎

National Honor Society Welcomes New Members!

posted Apr 14, 2017, 8:46 AM by Butch Richards   [ updated Apr 15, 2017, 5:45 AM ]

28  Students from Belfast Area High School were inducted into membership of the National Honor Society in a ceremony held at the school on Wednesday, April 12th.

Selection involved a Faculty Council who considered Scholarship, Service, Leadership, and Character for members.

Students inducted were:

Seniors:  Amaya Hughes, Sadee Mitchell, and Eliot Ripley

Juniors:  Tyler Bartlett, Amber Beaulieu, Kendra Belden, Sierra Bowden, Declan Brinn, Zoe Deans, Alison DeFeo, Alexander Doyne-Ditmas, Olivia Hills, Samantha Hills, Emily Jolliffe, Evan Kennedy, Olivia deFrees LaRoche, Alyssa Limeburner, Olivia Lovejoy, Emman Mehuren, Kelsey Mehuren, Alexander Newcomb, Jacob Racioppi, Alexia Sweet, Ricky Smith, Kristina Walker, Starr Warner, Hosler Whitney, MaCartney Wyatt

The Belfast Area High School Chapter has been active since early 1930s.

The National Honor Society ranks as one of the oldest and most prestigious national organizations for high school students.  Chapters exist in more than 60% of the nation’s high schools and since, 1921, millions of students have been selected for membership.  Millions of dollars in scholarships have been awarded to senior members since 1945 by the sponsoring organization, the National Association of Secondary School Principals (NASSP).