Home‎ > ‎BAHS News‎ > ‎

Celebrating Our Writers!...... At the BAHS Writers' Banquet

posted Apr 13, 2017, 9:32 AM by Butch Richards   [ updated Apr 13, 2017, 5:44 PM ]
Twenty Belfast Area High School student writers were honored Thursday evening, April 6, at the annual BAHS Writing Banquet. These talented students received thirty-one awards in nine different categories of poetry and prose. 

Family and friends gathered with faculty and administration in the BAHS Fine Arts Wing to recognize these writers who read from their award winning pieces during the evening celebration. Prose writers recognized included Mikayla Artkop, Maximillian Howard, Tyler Fitzpatrick, Eilha Silveira-Charbonnier, Syd Sanders, Joe Potter, William Bickford, Tyler Salo, Caneel Cheskin, Katie Ritchie and Grace Fitzjurls.  

Poets and dramatists receiving awards were Laila Al-Matrouk, Anna Coleman, Kristen Moore, Josh Chun, Grace Fitzjurls, Olivia LaRoche, Joe Potter, Kristina Walker, Eilha Silveira-Charbonnier, Isobel Kelly, Syd Sanders, Maximillian Howard, Jordyn Brewer, and Ravi Weaver.

The contest, sponsored by the BAHS English Department, is juried by local professional writers. The Department greatly appreciates the participation and dedication of these writers who spend many hours reading and choosing  student submissions for recognitions; judging the contest were Toni Mailloux, past journalist and editor of The Waldo Independent, and Jacob Fricke, writer and past Poet Laureate of Belfast.  The BAHS Annual Writing Contest is held to encourage our students to pursue their love of writing and to honor their creativity, imagination and writing talents while fostering a community of writers at BAHS.