Home‎ > ‎


Congratulations to Field Hockey Coach, Jan Jackson, on achieving her 200th Win at Morse This Week!

posted Oct 11, 2019, 11:42 AM by Butch Richards   [ updated Oct 11, 2019, 11:42 AM ]

BAHS Sophomores in Olympia Snowe Institute!

posted Oct 11, 2019, 8:25 AM by Butch Richards   [ updated Oct 11, 2019, 8:26 AM ]

The Olympia Snowe Institute welcomed the new 10th grade girls to the BAHS Olympia Leaders program on Thursday, October 10 with a welcome breakfast.  The girls and their families joined with the new 10th grade OLA's Jen Harris and Debbie Getchell to learn more about the program and to kick off their first year in the three year program that focuses on values, voice, and vision.  This unique leadership mentoring program is a three year commitment and the girls meet with their mentors monthly throughout the school year.  
The group, left to right, is Jen Harris (OLA mentor), 10th graders- Sarah Cournoyer, Kendra Wood, Reagan Seekins, Hailey Black, and Ada Potter, as well as Debbie Getchell (OLA mentor).

The families also took a photo with their daughters:

BAHS Annual Open House was October 9, 5-7pm! Thanks for Visiting!

posted Oct 8, 2019, 5:12 AM by Butch Richards   [ updated Oct 10, 2019, 10:22 AM ]

It's Time for the LEF Raffle!

posted Oct 7, 2019, 4:22 AM by Butch Richards   [ updated Oct 11, 2019, 8:09 AM ]

The Belfast Area High School chapter of the Liberian Education Fund is pleased to announce a raffle for a quilt of Penobscot Bay! Tickets are 1 for $5, or 5 for $20. Our heart-felt thanks to Meghan Reilly of  Sail Locker for supporting our tuition fundraising for peers in Liberia.

Tickets are on sale at Sail Locker, 65 Main Street, Belfast, and from any Liberian Education Fund student member. We'll have a table at  BAHS' Open House, this Wednesday, October 8th from 5 - 7 p.m. 
Drawing will be Saturday, December 7th.

Screen shot below: L-R Matt Shelton, Kelsey Talgo, and Kaitlyn Dufflemeyer holding up the quilt in front of Sail Locker  

Ask a Doc: "Journey to Health" Community Chat at THMS

posted Oct 5, 2019, 5:25 AM by Butch Richards   [ updated Oct 5, 2019, 5:30 AM ]

Maine Health Event presents a Journey to Health, Ask a Doc: Community Chat. Members of the Waldo County General Hospital medical team will answer your questions concerning Maine’s vaccination laws.  Also, included at this community event will be demonstrations about car seat safety, a new concept in green energy, a Smoothie Bike, and Flu shots provided by the Waldo County Public Health Department. 


Where: Troy A. Howard Middle School, 173 Lincolnville Avenue, Belfast
When: Thursday, October 10 @ 6:00 pm

Refreshments provided & for more information please email:

USS Constitution Educators' Cruise

posted Sep 23, 2019, 4:31 AM by Butch Richards   [ updated Sep 23, 2019, 4:31 AM ]

On Friday September 20, Belfast Area High School teacher Chip Lagerbom was one of several New England teachers who participated on an Educators' Cruise aboard USS Constitution in Boston Harbor. The 200-year old sailing ship, still commissioned US Navy vessel, departed Charlestown Navy Yard and proceeded out to Castle Island (now Fort Independence) where it gave a 21-cannon salute to the fort. The USS Constitution Museum had several exhibits and displays for educators as well as interactive presentations on each deck, everything from the physics and engineering of 18th century sailing to medicine and hygiene aboard ships. As it was a still commissioned US Navy vessel, the crew were all Navy personnel but dressed in 18th century uniforms including the Captain and executive officers.

BAHS and BCOPE Parents and Community Members Wanted

posted Sep 18, 2019, 12:50 PM by Butch Richards   [ updated Sep 18, 2019, 12:51 PM ]

Parents and community members representing Belfast Area High School and BCOPE are wanted to serve on the RSU # 71 Strategic Planning Committee, for 2 - 3 meetings in October and November. If interested please sign up in the school's main office at BAHS or BCOPE by Friday, October 11.

BAHS Students Chosen as Top Area Athletes by Courier Publications!

posted Sep 12, 2019, 4:27 AM by Butch Richards   [ updated Sep 12, 2019, 4:27 AM ]

Junne Robertson-McIntire and Jack Hansen — now in their senior years at Belfast Area High School — have been chosen as the top schoolgirl and schoolboy athletes in the Courier Publications/VillageSoup coverage area, which includes nine high schools over three Midcoast counties, for the 2018-19 school year.

BAHS First Day of School (and the new look) on WLBZ TV!

posted Sep 10, 2019, 4:26 AM by Butch Richards   [ updated Sep 10, 2019, 4:27 AM ]

Check out television news footage on WLBZ-TV here:

How About Those Lions!!!!! Some Background on the Lions in the Lobby.....

posted Sep 4, 2019, 7:10 AM by Butch Richards   [ updated Sep 4, 2019, 7:11 AM ]

 "GO LIONS!"  The lions in the lobby came to BAHS during the 2010-11 school year.  The lions originally came to us as a loan from Nokomis High School's Science teacher, Howard Whitten. Mr. Whitten taught a taxidermy class and was offered a variety of different animals to be donated to his program by the Smithsonian Institute. This happened in 2004. Since then, Nokomis students worked on the animals, including the lions, and had them exhibited in various places around the state of Maine. In response to the article in the Bangor Daily, (BAHS art teacher at the time) Mr. Chuck Hamm wrote to Mr. Whitten. According to Mr. Hamm, Ms. Marcia Ames, then in the BAHS office and Mr. Mailloux, the superintendent at the time, were very interested in giving the lions a good home. As it turned out, Mr. Whitten thought we would be great stewards and agreed to loan them to BAHS. They were originally hanging out in the Band Room, but they were moved to the front lobby in a glass enclosure after a week or two.  They are no longer on loan, as they are a permanent fixture at Belfast Area High School. "GO LIONS!"

1-10 of 304